Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Why I decided to Twitter and create a Facebook page

By NCC

It all started several years ago on a day in May. If my RAM serves me right, I believe May 15, 2005. My halls and rooms were full of people of which I had only seen a few of before that day. The singing and the worship that day was just wonderful, as it has been every Sunday since then. At one point they began talking about the church. Ok naturally I think that they are talking about me. After all, I had been doing some research into these things. What is a church building?

Around this time my reach continued to grow as miles of Cat 6 or was it Cat 5, (oh, it all kinda feels the same to me), wire continued to stretch out into all parts of the building. I think we are up to about 3.7 miles of wiring so far, but I could be off a bit. Soon I was wired into everything that was going on in the church. Not to mention internet access, cable tv, and satellite. I had connections to every room, well almost every room, nobody wired the bathrooms for which I am forever grateful. They didn’t seem to wire Room 103 or the connection is bad. So I don’t really know what goes on in there. Maybe I don’t want to know.

Anyway, everything was going fine until one a day I heard Robin say that this church building is just a tool, a resource and that the building is not the church, but rather the people coming here make up the church. Whoa there buddy, what are you talking about. I was always led to believe that I was the church. I mean come on, I would hear people say “I sure am glad you came to our church today.” Or they would say “Welcome to our church.” After all the bills that come in the mail are addressed to Northside Christian Church. I imagine that no matter who you stopped along the road and asked, would point and say “That? Are you blind? That is the church.”

And another thing, isn’t this place where people come to worship God, pray, read and study their Bibles? Where friends are made and lives are changed. Where kids learn about Jesus and parents do also. Where people talk to each other about Jesus and how He has changed their lives. I mean come on, where else are they going to do these things if not here in the church? Do people actually do these things away from me, the church?

I guess I needed to do some more research. I had questions and when one has questions. Google it. So I entered “0101011101101000011000010111010000100000011010010111001100100000011101000
1101000011001010010000001100011011010000111010101110010011000110110100000111111” oh sorry that’s in binary. Converted it’s “What is the Church?” The number one result was https://www.gotquestions.org/what-is-the-church.html Oh wow, I was devastated. I’m just a building, a resource, a tool. Obviously this was a changing moment in my existence. More research uncovered this from God’s Word

1 Corinthians 12:12-20

12The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ.
13For we were all baptized by one Spirit into one body—whether Jews or Greeks, slave or free—and we were all given the one Spirit to drink.
14Now the body is not made up of one part but of many.
15If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body.
16And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body.
17If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be?
18But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.
19If they were all one part, where would the body be?
20As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

I was none of these things. So the church is a body of believers made up of people. Come to think of it no two people look alike or act alike on Sunday mornings. Well except for maybe twins. Then I found this:

Ephesians 4:11-13

11It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers,
12to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up
13until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.

I soon realized that I could not be these things. It had to be the people. Finally I saw this and I knew:

Matthew 25:37-40

37″Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?
38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?
39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
40″The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’
I haven’t feed anyone, or gave anyone something drink or than my water fountains. I don’t really invite in strangers, unless you count my sign out front. I haven’t clothed anyone or gone to visit anyone. I don’t get out much. It must be the people.

Soon after this discovery I began to notice a pattern. Sunday morning almost 2,000 people come in the front door and spread out through the rooms and hallways. And then everyone leaves. A few come back on Monday and Tuesday. Some children and teachers are here during the week along with the staff. Wednesday evening several hundred adults, youth and children show up. But it’s nothing like Sunday morning. I do get to listen to worship practice on Wednesday evening, it sounds great but it’s missing all the voices I am used to. Some strangers hang out in the Café during the mornings but they are just waiting on their school children. Maybe someone should invite them to the church so they aren’t strangers to me.

So I guess that gets us to this point. The question I asked myself, “How can I stay in touch with the church during the week?” Quite frankly sometimes it is a bit lonely up here. Teachers teaching and students learning. The staff is working hard as always. Once in a while when the weather is bad I get a few people walking laps around my hallways talking about what’s up in their lives. Even small groups want to meet in their homes. Does the church only happen on Sundays and Wednesday evenings? I think I was going through a relationship withdrawal during the week.

How could I solve this problem? Naturally turning to the internet I Googled “Relationships, peoples lives, disconnected, staying in touch”. The resounding answer was “Social Networking.” That was it. My circuits lit up. If they won’t come to me, I’ll go to them. I can share what’s going on up here and maybe they will share what’s going on in their lives during the week. I settled on Twitter and Facebook. While the latter seems much more popular, I am not giving up on Twitter. 140 character blasts of information are right up my alley.

Now maybe I will be able answer that nagging question? Is the church that shows on Sunday morning the same church that exists out in the world during the week? Only time will tell. So that is why I decided to Twitter and create a Facebook page.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

