Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

9/8 Matthew 18-20

I think that the Parable of the Unmerciful Servant gives us some difficult medicine to swallow.  How many times should some one be forgiven?

22Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.

I think this basically means there should be no limit to the number of times we forgive someone.  How many times has God forgiven us?  So if God forgives us for something and we in turn refuse to forgive someone else for the very same thing, does that make us as bad as the servant in this parable?

Note to self.  Is there someone I need to forgive?  Some grudge that I am keeping against another?

The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard is a stark reminder that whether you have been a Christian your entire adult life, 20 years or 20 minutes, to God he gives to us equally.

13“But he answered one of them, ‘Friend, I am not being unfair to you. Didn’t you agree to work for a denarius? 14Take your pay and go. I want to give the man who was hired last the same as I gave you. 15Don’t I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?’

16“So the last will be first, and the first will be last.”

Would we ever complain that we deserve it more than the other person?  God promises us all eternal life for all that believe?  There are no tenured levels with God.  Why should we expect to get more and someone else less?

September 8, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

