Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Created to Serve – Part 1

Exodus 31:1-6

September 16, 2009

This past Sunday at Northside we began a three week sermon series entitled, Off the Bench. If you saw the sermon logo (see our homepage), you would realize quickly that “bench” is “pew”. We desire for each of our people (you) to get off the pews and serve in God’s church. It was mentioned Sunday that our goal for every individual at Northside is to experience God in a 3 hour setting per week: 1 hour of worship (church), 1 hour of fellowship (small groups or ABF’s), and 1 hour of service. This series concerns the latter hour.

Scripture is very clear that the church has always been God’s instrument for delivering hope and life to the least, the lost, and the lonely. By serving the church, you can tap into God’s strategic plan for the world around you. The problem comes when we don’t know which instrument we are! Each of you were created with a spiritual gift (an instrument), maybe more than one, to be used (played) for God’s pleasure.

Don’t just take my word for it, look at what 1 Peter 4:10 says, God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another.

So if you have a gift, what is it then? We’ve offered a spiritual gift assessment test to lead you closer to knowing the gift God has given you.

In Exodus 31, Moses had a great responsibility to construct the tabernacle, the meeting place of God. Moses had good leadership skills, but he was very slow when it came to craftsmanship. If Moses and I were having a race to see who could hammer a nail down the fastest, it would be a ten minute race. Knowing that Moses had his gifts, and they weren’t skilled in construction, God sent Bezalel (say that name 5 times fast), who was very skilled when it came to orange cones and hard yellow hats.

At Northside, we believe that you were created to serve God with the gifts He’s given you. The needs we have now in our church are going to be filled by you – a modern day Bezalel. From personal experience, I can assure you that there are few things more liberating than knowing your gift, and using that gift for God’s glory. It’s what we were created for.

I encourage you to take this spiritual gift assessment and reply below with a comment as to what your results were and where you see God plugging you in.

Zach

September 16, 2009 - Posted by | Zach | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks Zach!

    I had a few that scored in the top three- Knowledge & Faith were same, then Wisdom & Prophecy, and lastly Discernment, Leadership & Serving. I’ve seen at different times as I’m growing in my faith, how I may recognize or use one more than another. It’s awesome how God interweaves these gifts into our personalities and interests, even with things that we thought we’d NEVER do! That’s when His power is really shown in our lives.

    I just started attending N.S. earlier this year and would very much like to get involved!

    Comment by Rachel R. | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. I took the test Monday and here are my top 4 because 2,3,4 were tied I didnt know how to do top 3 LOL
    1. Serving
    2. Faith
    3. Giving
    4. Discernment
    Yep I like to serve … tell me where and if I can do it I will … And faith is an ongoing journey for me and I learn all the time that it is a VERY IMPORTANT part of out lives and if you have Faith it makes life a lot easier … just hand it over to Him!
    Giving … Well, we do …
    Discernment at first I had a problem with it … I didn’t think it was me too much but a few people that know me said it is me!!!
    So there ya have it… Me in a nut shell … See ya soon Jacki

    Comment by Jacki Rogers | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. I also have some that were tied!
    1. Knowledge
    2. Faith & Teaching
    3. Evangelism & Prophecy
    The first three show up in the top in every gift assessment test that I’ve taken! And this is where I’ve found I fit well in the past at another church I used to attend.
    The last two are a surprise to me! I have usually scored much lower in these areas in the past. Depending upon which gift assessment test I’ve taken, I usually score higher in encouragement, wisdom, and leadership than I do with evangelism and prophecy!
    I’m new to NCC and feel welcome and at home here. At first it was difficult to step out and make a change. But I know it was what God was leading me to do. I’m thankful for all the warm, friendly folks who make it easier for me! I’m not sure where I could help out – seems like there’s so many people doing a lot of different things already – but I’d like to help out.

    Comment by Rita S | September 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

