Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

9/17 Mark 12-14

I wonder how it felt for Peter to say one thing and then turn around and do the exact opposite?  Oh, wait I think I know.  Isn’t amazing how many times we say we will do something or for that matter we say will never do this or that, only to do the exact opposite.  It seems that making a commitment and then following through on it is not all that important anymore.  We I guess I shouldn’t say important, it’s very important, it’s just doesn’t seem all that common.  When people fail to meet their commitments, we say, “oh well didn’t think they would do it anyway” or “something else must of come up.”   It is amazing how Jesus knew exactly what would happen with Peter.  Maybe that was God’s plan for Peter.

27“You will all fall away,” Jesus told them, “for it is written:
” ‘I will strike the shepherd,
and the sheep will be scattered. 28But after I have risen, I will go ahead of you into Galilee.”


29Peter declared, “Even if all fall away, I will not.”

30″I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “today—yes, tonight—before the rooster crows twice you yourself will disown me three times.”

31But Peter insisted emphatically, “Even if I have to die with you, I will never disown you.” And all the others said the same.

Peter must of felt pretty sure of himself.  I mean after all he did declare that Jesus was the Son of God and Peter was one of the three that Jesus had been mentoring to take over for him.  If you have spent three years with the Son of God and you were about as close as any one person can get to him, what could go wrong?

66While Peter was below in the courtyard, one of the servant girls of the high priest came by. 67When she saw Peter warming himself, she looked closely at him.
“You also were with that Nazarene, Jesus,” she said.

68But he denied it. “I don’t know or understand what you’re talking about,” he said, and went out into the entryway.

69When the servant girl saw him there, she said again to those standing around, “This fellow is one of them.” 70Again he denied it.
After a little while, those standing near said to Peter, “Surely you are one of them, for you are a Galilean.”

71He began to call down curses on himself, and he swore to them, “I don’t know this man you’re talking about.”

72Immediately the rooster crowed the second time. Then Peter remembered the word Jesus had spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows twice you will disown me three times.” And he broke down and wept.

Fear, confrontation, Fear, accusation, Fear, association, Fear, weakness, Fear, lack of faith, Fear.  Does that about cover it?  In fairness to Peter, are these not the same things we suffer from today?


September 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

