Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

10/8 John 20-21

Doubt, it is the one thing that holds us back from so many accomplishments.  It can stop us dead in our tracks.  Trying for that new job, nah probably not qualified.  Considered asking such and such out, but they’ll probably say no.  Thought about getting involved with this ministry at church but I’m probably not good enough.  I prayed for this and God didn’t answer my prayer, guess He doesn’t care or He’s just to busy.  Thomas had doubts about Jesus’ resurrection.

25So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe it.”

26A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” 27Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”

28Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!” 29Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”


Thomas was presented with the physical proof.  Jesus.  It is difficult for us because we must live by faith.  Faith in Jesus and faith in ourselves and our abilities.  The last section of the book of John is entitled “Jesus Reinstates Peter.”  I think that Jesus is saying to Peter that I have trained you, mentored you, and loved you, now I have an important job for you.  Become the shepherd I have prepared you to be.

15When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me more than these?”  “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”  Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

16Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me?”  He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”  Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

17 The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”  Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.

It is an interesting statement that Peter says in verse 17.  “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”  I wonder if we could talk directly to Jesus looking into his eyes and say “you know that I love you”, would he know?

October 8, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

