Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

10/23 Romans 7-9

We know we should turn of the TV and go walk a few miles on the treadmill, but the Yankees and Angels are playing right now.   We know we should be up early in the morning studying God’s word, but we hit the snooze button to many times because we were up late last night.  We know we should be giving more to the church but that flat screen LCD TV was on sale last month and it was too good of a deal to pass up.  Okay, now I get what Paul is talking about in chapter 7 about doing the opposite of what he wants to do.

14We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

So I get it, let’s blame it on the sin and not take any responsibility for ourselves.  Nope I don’t think that is going to work.  It is our choice to avoid sin with help of the Holy Spirit.  Chapter 8 explains how.

5Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

Those that live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on God and on life and peace.  Those of us who allow the Holy Spirit to lead us are sons and daughters of God.

14because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 15For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.  16The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

What have you done this week to show others that you are a child of God?

October 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

