Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Rich Toward God (Part 2 of 5)

November 10, 2009

This past week it was referenced that God does not like leftovers. In fact, He won’t accept our leftovers. Already, dozens have been challenged to up their giving, increase their prayer time, serve Him faithfully, and even take the step of being saved by Him. God deserves our best, this is true.

Growing up the person I wanted to please more than anyone was my dad. I wanted to make my dad smile more than Chrystal Schiering (my elementary crush), more than my basketball coach, and more than myself. And I guess it’s just inbred in every son to want to please his father……so why isn’t it inbred in every child of God? Shouldn’t we want to please God more than anyone? Have we forgotten that He’s watching us?

A couple nights ago I woke up in the middle of the night (which, most of the time I could sleep through a tornado), and I looked at my wife, Whitney, sleeping beside me (we sleep in the same bed, if you need to know). And suddenly, instead of feeling groggy, I was overwhelmed by the most intense sense of love. I just stared at her, thinking about our entire relationship in one kaleidoscopic viewing. I thought about the afternoon we met, our first private joke, the first time we laugh so hard we couldn’t breathe, the secret nicknames we gave one another, and the hidden traditions we made together, the way she smiled walking down the wedding aisle, even with the sun in her eyes. I saw all of those events and I was inflamed with more love for her than I ever had before.

I began to think about how my life would be without Whit. I thought not just how empty it would be, but how that who I am now is somehow wrapped up in this person snoring beside me.

I studied Whit for the longest time, staring at her perfect face, and then something happened I was prepared for. I propped up on one elbow and watching Whit sleep I thought, While I lie in bed sleeping, God is watching me. And the thought came to my mind that God was saying something like this: I love you like that. While you lay sleeping, no one can see you, but I watch you. My heart is full of love for you. Please know the love I have for you, because when you do, you will please me.

Sometime today find a corner in your schedule to crawl up in and reflect on how much God really loves you. Then you’ll want to make Him proud more than any other being. It’s a beautiful life when you live to make the Father proud of you.

Zach

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Zach |

2 Comments »

  1. Zach,

    I hope Whit didn’t catch you staring at her. It probably would of scarede the bajeebies out of her. I know if I woke and saw Paul staring at me I would think he was a “creeper” Ha !! NOT really- Beautiful note and Thank you for letting God work through you. He has truly blessed us with sending you and Whit here. Love, Dee Coleman

    Comment by Dee Coleman | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wow!! That was sweet of you to share!
    I just want to let you know – how very much I have appreciated your sermons. God is working in you and through you and it is a great thing to witness. I love that He sent the phone call to you, while you were preparing your sermon the other week- challenging you to “practice what you preach”. I love to see God working in those ways -letting us know he is always with us, always watching , always caring and inspiring us to live for Him. It’s good to hear you say -that you struggle- that you don’t have it “all together” – none of us do or ever will until we see Him and are made like him. I appreciate your transparency. Not sure what last weeks prepared sermon was .. but thanks for allowing God to change it up for you – it was necessary in so many ways you will never even know!

    Comment by Jamie Stump | November 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

