Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Rich toward God (Part 3 of 5)

November 18, 2009

From God’s perspective, it doesn’t matter how much money you have right now. You may have a mountain of cash, or you may have enough to get buy. Either way, we’re called by Him (told by Him, asked by Him) to use what He’s given us to praise Him and help others in every area of our lives.

Since God is so invisible to me sometimes, and since I’m such a visual learner, it’s going to have to take some discipline to realize that every dollar I earn comes from God. He’s given me my talents, He’s given me my vocation, He’s given me every cent I make. Therefore, He should be the decider of every cent I spend. We should at least run it by Him, don’t ya think?

I remember one vacation my family and I took when I was around 10 years old. We went to visit Grandma and Grandpa out in Colorado. About a half mile from my grandparents’ house was a baseball card store that I was addicted to. And when I say addicted, I mean I snuck out one night to see if they might be open at three o’clock in the morning.

They weren’t open.

But I spent all the money I had saved up over the summer ($80, which is a lot to a third grader) at that baseball card store. I kept that store in business…….then Sunday came. My mom reminded me before church to be sure I had the $10 I promised to give to God. I didn’t have $10; I just had a bunch of baseball cards. My mom turned into a tattle tale and told on me to my dad. In righteous anger, my dad popped another vein in his forehead and asked me to show him all the baseball cards (and candy) I had purchased. I did, and my father took the most valuable card I had and asked me what I think I should do with that very valuable, collector’s item: a 1985 Pete Rose baseball card. I knew what I had to do – I set it in the offering plate at church.

Because I didn’t even think that every dollar I was spending was God’s anyway, it never occurred to me that I should’ve saved a percentage of my (His) earnings to give to Him. And in the end, because of my selfishness, God received what I thought was valuable anyway. When we leave this earth, God’s going to get whatever we have selfishly tried to attain anyway, wouldn’t it be more fulfilling to team up with God and give while we’re here?

Even though I failed my father that horrible summer of 1991, I have learned that failing my heavenly Father hurts more, and so He decides how I spend, invest, save, and give when it comes to money.

Zach

November 18, 2009 - Posted by | Zach |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

