Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

What a Difference Christmas Makes (3 of 4 )

December 23rd, 2009

This past Saturday, Whitney and I moved into a new house, our first owned home. When you purchase a new home, you grow up really fast. Never before had I thought about blinds for windows, fixtures for bedrooms, and we really grew up spending real money on real sofas.

One of the real, petty fears I’ve had since our first place broke ground was coming to grips with having to paint inside the home. I’m an awful painter. I don’t have the patience for it, and more than anything else, when it comes to painting I have a high that’s good enough for me level.

I’ve almost lost close friends over the botched job I did painting the bedroom of their new home. It was so awful halfway through that I was in between running away and just setting the room on fire. To this day I refuse to go into their bedroom and see the awful mistakes I made. It seriously looks like a three year old took paint to their walls. I’m just dreadful at painting.

Have you ever been halfway through painting a room and wish you could start over? Have you ever been halfway through cooking a meal and wish you could start over? Halfway through some project at work? Halfway through life and wish you could start over?

2nd Corinthians 5:17 says, If anyone is in Christ, he becomes a new person altogether. The past is finished and gone. Everything becomes fresh and new. God wants you to not just turn over a new leaf, God wants to give you a new life. It’s like starting again, being born all over.

The difference Christmas makes is that Jesus’ birth says, God didn’t come to rub it in, He came to rub it out. If there is anything that’s good news it’s that God says my past can be forgiven. Regardless of who you are or what you’ve done or what you think you’ve done, you matter to God and He cares about you. He wants to forgive you. The difference between life and death is forgiveness, and that’s possible by what we celebrate in a couple days. I’m gong to enjoy my December 25th and thank God for His Son (and I’m not going to paint on Christmas).

Zach

December 23, 2009 - Posted by | Zach |

3 Comments »

  1. Lovely! Thank you for reminding us to focus on what a gift we have been given.

    Comment by Lisa | December 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Congratulations to you and Whitney. And thank you for reminding us that Jesus IS the reason for the season. All of us at Northside have truly been blessed by your presence.

    Comment by Linda Conner | December 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. The best congratulations to you and Whitney. I am so blessed to have met you and to be in a church with a young minister such as yourself. Thank you for reminding me that with Jesus we have a reason to celebrate. Merry Christmas!

    Comment by Diane | December 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

