Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

What a Difference Christmas Makes (4 of 4)

December 30th, 2009

Have you received God’s Christmas gift of Jesus Christ? I was reading an online article earlier this month about a guy who got a Christmas gift, 49 years ago and he still hadn’t opened it. Isn’t that strange? I can’t imagine if my wife gave me a gift and it was there under the tree (or if you gave me a gift) and three months after Christmas, about March, you say, How did you like the gift? I say, I’m sure I loved it; I just haven’t had the time to open it yet.

The tragedy is many people celebrate Christmas, year after year… , and they’ve never received God’s Christmas gift.  That doesn’t make sense!  Have you accepted God’s gift of forgiveness, strength and eternal life through His Son, Christ?  You can’t celebrate Christmas. You’re not going to find it under the tree until it’s in your heart.  Have you ever received that gift? If you have, then you’ll share it from here on out.

I heard the story of a father who gave his preschool daughter some plastic pearls.  She wore them for years.  When she turned 13, he said, I want you to give me those plastic pearls you’re wearing. She wondered why and her dad said,  Just trust me, just give them to me. As he took them back with one hand, he pulled from his pocket a string a real pearls.

God is saying to us, For this new year, give Me the cheap plastic thrills, give Me the things you think satisfy but really don’t, and I’ll give you something genuine.  I’ll give you something real, something that lasts if you’ll trust Me.

I like Sundays because they start my week fresh. I like mornings because they start my day off fresh. And it’s the same with January. I want to look back on 2010 this time next year and see how much closer I’ve grown to God because of what I put my trust in – real pearls.

Zach

December 30, 2009 - Posted by | Zach |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

