Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Happy New Year

It is hard to imagine that 2009 has come to a close. So much has happened this year for me professionally, personally, and spiritually. It has been a journey filled with many successes as well as lows. So as I reflect on the whole year, I realize it started to turn in January when Ben Ruprecht and I met and discussed his calling for ministry; wow—now he has accomplished a lot in a year. His desire for ministry has fulfilled a plan that started over two years ago, as I have pulled myself out of my comfort zone, an area that I have been a permanent fixture. Being in children’s ministry for over 14 years “that I said I would never do”, I have witnessed many struggles, triumphs, life changes, God moments, and God blessings. God has been so amazing with me over this past year and I am really not shocked by that, as He has always been since I recognized that at 16.

Now as I look at 2010, today starts a whole new year that I already know will cause some fear and stress with my oldest graduating and going off to college. As we look to find the things that we need to make a stand on, a resolution, it is amazing that we all set off the year to do something new, better, stronger, more intense, fruitful, and finish it. My goal is! So what is your goal for the year, are you really preparing yourself to press on toward it? In Philippians 3:12-21 we read “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. All of us who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. Only let us live up to what we have already attained. Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.” Paul writes out his goal, so the easy question would be: is this your goal? I know that this is a simple and highly memorized verse in the Bible. This passage is quoted often to set standards in one’s life and to let us understand that Paul was striving for something. It also reminds us that Paul is not perfect and still needs to work hard, having a goal in place so he will not lose it and fall into the trappings of life, sound familiar?

I myself have the attitude where I would rather be spontaneous and at the same time have a plan, that’s weird. Though my desire to be spontaneous and yet have control has many limits and creates frustration for myself and those around me, I know that so often we feel that it limits God if we set goals and expectations for our lives. God does not want us to sit around and be complacent and wait for Him to move us, His charge was: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20. Therefore and go, we need to get up and go, make a plan and set forth what it is for us to achieve the goal. We all ultimately have the same goal, so let’s get together this year and work in a harmonious body of believers here at Northside. This year make your goal and resolution to be that you will accomplish what Christ desires from you. Therefore get up and go, dig into the living Word and see what God wants from you in 2010. I pray that you start this year desiring to be more like Him and striving to follow His goals for your life. So let us all get up and go and “Live Him Out Loud”.

Many Blessings,

Mark A Williams

January 1, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

