Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

The First Breath

January 8, 2010

Last month I had the privilege to help bring a new baby into the world. The little boy, born prematurely at his home, took his first breath moments before I got to his house. I had the amazing opportunity to assist in the clamping of his cord, assisting his dad in cutting the cord, then to suction him, stimulate and warm this brand new beautiful baby boy. As the wonderful cry happened I quickly flashed through the birth of my children, a joyous and amazing time. Only to be grounded by the understanding that it was be my responsibility to make sure he was okay, breathing, warm, having enough oxygen; I had no nurse to pass him off to. Fear set in, but he needed me to take care of him. I took care of his needs, and when he sucked his thumb, grasped my finger, he brought joy to my life. We all are created to bring joy to our heavenly Father. He desires us to live for Him and to serve on His behalf.

In Ephesians 2:10 we read “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Our life is to be lived in a way that allows us to do what God has prepared us to do. That little boy was created, and at his young age served me in a way that I can not even put into words. If you go to the beginning of that passage Ephesians 2:1-9 “As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.”

We are all made alive in Christ and need to understand that when we took the first breath in our relationship with Him, we were made alive. Now that we are alive, we need to live our life out loud. Now take another deep breath, roll up your sleeves and get ready to be delivered out of our old habits and find a new life. Cut the cord from the things that separate us from God, suction out the gunk of this world and allow God to do with you what He has prepared. This is why we all come to Him like a little child. The little boy will grow to desire more and more from his parents. God wants us to grow in our relationship with Him. So as you grow, remember you are alive in Him. Now grab onto His hand, let Him lead you and show you how He wants you to “Live Your Life Out Loud.”

Many Blessings,
Mark A Williams

January 8, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

4 Comments »

  1. Wow, incredible – what an awesome experience. Love the parallel for our lives. Keep up the blogging, I look forward to each posting.

    Comment by Lisa | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thank you for this message- it is something that has been on my heart too. Getting rid of the stuff and junk that keep me from a relationship with my Father.Living a life in relationship with Him and builing relationships here that are honoring to Him. Living life out loud -I like that- for me I thought of living life in color. Serving in ways that are authentic to the way he created me. I think of the beauty of the fruit tree in full bloom-fragrant- alive- colorful- preparing to bear the fruit for which it was created.

    Comment by Pam | January 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Pam,
      I love the fruit tree analogy. The true miracle is God’s creation in us and what He wants from us. I am glad you were inspired and your living life in color, great thought. I like to live it out loud, because I want to be noticed :).
      Thanks for the great comment, and I thank you for reading my thoughts.
      God Bless,
      Mark

      Comment by Mark Williams | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thank you very much Lisa.

    Comment by Mark Williams | January 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

