Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Thirsty?

February 12, 2010

My youngest has a bunny and that bunny is often way to funny. As I walk past her she will run around, shake, and rattle the cage. She expresses her desire for attention, food, and occasionally water and as she makes herself known, I will try to take care of her needs. I noticed her desires the other day when I came home after hearing on the news that a 28 year old man had just been found alive in Haiti. I could only imagine what his desires were, what he had to go through, his thoughts, his frustration, his pain, and the struggle as he lost the energy from his body. My thoughts were that our bunny desires to have attention and to be fed, especially if she is not fed within a short amount of time. This poor man most likely did not have even enough energy to lift a glass, let alone for his body to be ready to accept it. You may not see the similarities between this Haitian and our bunny. The bunny desires her water but is not even dehydrated. The extremely dehydrated man was past the point of desiring water and was at the point of desperately needing its life giving hydration.

This reminded me of Psalm 42:1-2 “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” This passage has always meant a lot to me but today I focused on the “My soul thirsts for God.” I have always seen my self as thirsting and desiring to be with my God. Do we wait to obtain a thirst or do we desire so we do not have to be thirsty? When do we really see the need for our Lord? We often seek Him the most when we need Him the most. Do you truly understand the thirst? Is your thirst truly longing for God? Just as our bunny simply desires to be loved, fed, and cared for, we too need to constantly seek and desire Him.

Thirst for Him! This thirst needs to be a desire that is lived out daily. Follow this up with Psalm 143:6 “I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land.” Often in the beginning of my relationship with Him I would completely dehydrate myself only then to see my need for Him. To really long and desire Him is to approach Him with the mindset of being completely dehydrated and needing Him to give you life. Do not let yourself wait until you are truly spiritually dehydrated. We need to desire Him with the understanding that He wants our soul to seek Him. He wants to rescue you today so be ready for Him.

LYLOL

God Bless,
Mark A. Williams

February 12, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

1 Comment »

  1. While it is sometimes hard for me to think of it as thirsting for Jesus, I can – and do – feel like I can’t live without Him. I think the idea of thirsting adds the element of having to go to Him (don’t just sit there)and be refreshed because you “drank in” His teachings and love and priorities.

    Comment by Bobbie | February 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

