Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Comfort Zone

February 16, 2010

I have been thinking about this for a while and have been prodded by others to write a weekly blog.  Well, I guess I’m here!  In the blogosphere that is. I have to admit I am writing it with some hesitancy, thinking my plate is already full and where will I find the time.  Another concern, was that this whole blog thing might just be a little out of my “comfort zone”.  However, in a recent sermon, I talked about “getting out of our comfort zone”.   How could I use that as an excuse?

I used the passage in Luke where Simon Peter had fished all night.  They had caught nothing.  They were ready to hang it up for the day, when Jesus said to Simon, “Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.”  5Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”   . Luke 5:4-5 (NIV)

I can imagine Simon Peter and his partners were ready to call it a day. They had fished all night long and had caught not so much as a single little fish. They are tired, frustrated, discouraged, and defeated. The last thing any of them wants to do is go back out and fish some more. Yet, when Jesus tells Peter to do just that, he surrenders to the will of the Lord and goes out to fish.

Jesus told them to “put out a little deeper”.  That may be like telling us to go out a little farther and put out a little deeper.  Today we might say he is calling us to get out of our comfort zone.

What happens in the deeper water? It can be scary. It is more unstable.  It is at least more unfamiliar.   All of us, I believe could have the tendency to, just stay inside our comfort zone.  I believe we all should be challenged to step out of our comfort zone!

I experienced this in a recent Mission trip to Mexico.  I had the opportunity to take, as it were, a leap of faith!  I was challenged to “bungee jump”.  Now I wouldn’t say I have a fear of heights, but rather a healthy respect for heights.  I had worked and walked on a 12” ledge,   3 stories high just that week on the mission trip.  But there is something practical about thinking, “I don’t know if God has called me to jump off of a 16 story tower!

A few years ago – sitting at a table underneath Bungee, some of our group had gone up to bungee jump.  I can remember sitting there, as a leader of the group, knowing our people were going to jump and my palms were sweaty, just thinking about it. But this was the year to add it to my “bucket list” if I was ever going to do it!  I was cool, calm and collected.  Which I interpret that I didn’t  FREAK OUT!  My mind also went to the Scripture where Jesus says – “lo, I am with you always!”) I’m not thinking that included bungee jumping (or maybe riding in an airplane for some of you!)

For whatever reason this year, it was absolutely not a problem!  Of course, I was a little worried being in Mexico that they might think I was a huge piñata!  And I do have to admit that on the platform I did look at the cords to make sure they weren’t frayed!  After I was wrapped up and tied up with no place to go on the platform, but over the edge with the twinkling lights below.   Wait a minute – “What was I thinking?” But I had too much pride to back out!  I would have never lived that one down.  Yes, it would have been easier to die and go be with Jesus.  I took the plunge! And the trip was “exhilarating!”  WOW!  WHEW!

What happens in the deeper water? It can be scary because it is unfamiliar to us.  But when God is taking you there you can be assured that He will be there for you!  God’s commands are God’s enablements!   When Jesus meets us, He wants to take us from shallow faith to a deeper faith!  The only way we can do that is to “step out of our comfort zone”!

Simon get back out there to the deep water, get in over your head and lower your nets one more time. Even though you appear to have failed, try again, risk again, believe again, and work again.  Peter said, “At Your Word, I will try again.” When they let down their nets this time, they caught so many fish that their net broke and they had to call their partners to help them get the catch loaded into the boats.  What made the difference? Obedience to Jesus, even when Peter did not want to do what the Lord asked him to do!

So when Jesus says to us get back out there to the deep water, get in over your head and lower your nets one more time. Even though you appear to have failed, try again, risk again, believe again, and work again.  Step out in faith!  Step out of your “comfort zone” and see what God will do through you!

Robin

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | Robin |

3 Comments »

  1. WOW … Now I wanna bungie jump … And I am scared of heights!
    Nice article Robin, Thanks for blogging 😀

    Comment by Jacki Rogers | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great job Robin welcome back but I’ll stay in my comfort zone on that one. Hope you had a great trip.

    Comment by Hank | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. Again, great job! Thanks for the challenge! We can all do better outside of our comfort zone.

    Comment by Jennifer | February 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

