Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Layers

February 19, 2010

A few years ago I drove a bus from Tennessee to Piedras Negras, Mexico to transport a Missions team to the field for a week. As the week started, I worked alongside with men and women that I had just met which was a great experience for me. As the week progressed, there was one group that was assigned to prepare a foundation for a new home. As this group worked in the 90 plus degree temperatures, they struggled to dig an approximately 25 x 35 foot area four inches deep. Armed with shovels, picks, rakes, and gloved hands they started the work. The missions team said the concrete would be poured on Saturday. This should be easy since it’s only Monday. As they scraped along the ground, the picks would bounce back as if the ground was already concrete. It was a long process and even with a depth so shallow to obtain those who volunteered were unpleasantly surprised that it took until Saturday morning to finish the dig. Layers were peeled back ever so slowly, it was time and energy consuming project. As the next layer was exposed, the process had to be repeated over and over and over again.

This layering process is very similar to the life that we live right now. As we grow in our lives with Him we will need to chisel away a new layer and pull away the debris. Understanding that for us to grow we need to dig through areas in our lives that are keeping us from living completely for Him. As we expose a new layer we will need to understand it will take more and more energy to expose the next layer. This ultimately will cause frustration, vulnerability, pain, and exhaustion. Just imagine this work being done on a 100 degree day. Truly what we are removing is the stuff that keeps us from God and His Son.

We often rationalize that the sin in our lives is insignificant and that it is not that important. Paul in 1 Timothy 1:15-16 “Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.” I know that literally I may not sin the most, but as the layers in my life have been exposed, I see that that stuff is harder to remove and is magnified more than what I saw when I was 16. When I first accepted and was baptized, I saw the sin that was keeping me from Him; it was relevant, loose and easy to remove like a blanket. Now 20 plus years later God and I have to really scrape and dig to get rid of it. Paul is not the biggest sinner, he just got close enough to God to see the sin that was deep and close to Him was the strongest and hardest to remove. So the more Paul saw his sin is when he really understood his desire to be in the presence of God. God has the tools ready for you, pick them up and be ready to work along side Him in your life.

Live your life out loud.

Love,

Mark A Williams

Minister of Involvement

February 19, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

1 Comment »

  1. Our son and daughter-in-law are living with us for awhile. When they moved in, I claimed Titus 2:4-8 as my goal: train the younger women, encourage the young men. I hoped that something I had learned through the years would “rub off” on them and save them a lot of trouble having to learn it for themselves.

    But what is happening is that my kids are doing just fine on their own, and it is MY rough spots and sins that are coming to light. And my first reaction is always that I have been acting like this too long to change now. But, like Mark said in the blog, with God’s help I can “scrape and dig” and hopefully become more pleasing to God.

    Comment by Bobbie | February 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

