Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

A Good Buffet Anyone?

February 23, 2010

Have you ever been to a really good buffet?  Do you like buffets  I like buffets!  I may even like them too well!  J  I could have the tendency to eat too much!  They give me the opportunity to eat obnoxious amounts of delicious foods.   It’s the kind of restaurant where everyone can get what they want. They can go down the line and pick and choose … Mexican food, Seafood, Chinese, Italian, good old American. You can try something new, and if you don’t like it … set it aside and go back for something else…

That’s great when you’re eating out (except that you may over-eat trying to get your money’s worth). But it doesn’t work so well when you take the buffet approach to your belief system. A lot of people think of “religion” as a kind of smorgasbord. They take a little of what Buddha said over here and try out some of what Mahatma Gandhi said over there with a little Jesus sprinkled over it and some Scientology sauce on the side. And for dessert they try some Dr. Phil and Dr. Laura or a little bit of Oprah sprinkled on top. If it all tastes good, they keep it … and they’ve put together their own buffet of life. The best part is, if they lose their taste for any part of it, they can set it aside and try something else.

The only problem is: the Bible doesn’t offer a Buffet. God isn’t a buffet kind of God. The Bible presents ONE God and ONE way to be saved.  Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6 (NIV)

So I like buffets!  I will probably always be tempted by them!  I like what they have to offer!  I may even see you in a buffet from time to time.  However, because I believe in Jesus Christ and what He teaches in the Scriptures, I have no option to include anything else for my salvation.  Christ alone is my rock, my fortress and my salvation!  And by the way, that’s exactly what you’ll find taught at Northside Christian Church!

Robin

February 23, 2010 - Posted by | Robin |

4 Comments »

  1. Amen!

    Comment by Rita S | February 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. You preach it brother!!! Now, I can identify with food!
    Dee

    Comment by Dee Coleman | February 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. As it is with me, I will always be tempted. But there is only one way and one God!! Thanks Robin couldn’t agree more!!

    Comment by KATHY N. | February 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’d say that’s pretty fearless 🙂
    No matter what buffet table you eat at…John 14:6 is all I’m digesting…

    Have a great week…

    Bob.

    Comment by Bob Rawlins | March 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

