Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

51 year old oven dies and lives again!

March 30, 2010

We have a built-in oven in our house that was installed when the house was built. That oven is now 51 years old. It is amazing to me that an appliance that old still works. I think you could classify it as an antique, which makes me wonder if someone might classify me as an antique. I’m sure some of our younger people at church may think so, but I’m pretty sure that some of us “more mature” folks wouldn’t see it that way.

My son-in-law turned the oven on a few weeks ago to bake a pizza. It was my son-in-law, not me! The heating element caught fire and it burned out. Yes, the smoke alarms went off! Okay, they go off when I’m cooking too, but for a different reason! Usually in my house, where there is smoke, I’m usually cooking! But it wasn’t me! HONEST! Don’t worry, it was a small fire – contained in the oven! But none-the-less “old-faithful” was dead! No more pies, cakes, cookies, meatloaf, pizza! OUCH! I like to eat too much, what would we do? We had been talking of “remodeling” the kitchen for years, but it just wasn’t a good time for us to do that. And when you begin to remodel, not only is it costly, but it would involve an extensive project for us that would involve at least 2 rooms.

Good News! Our 51 year old “built-in” oven is back from the dead! (*I am in the resurrection business, you know!) It’s amazing what a $3.81 part and a little wiring ingenuity can do! Of course, this does mean that the kitchen remodeling project will have to go onto the back burner now! Sorry Paula!

I’m glad that God is in the resurrection business too! That’s what Easter is all about! We get “broken” too! I’m so glad that God just doesn’t throw us out for a newer model when we sin! In fact, “God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Rom 5:8) God is patient with us, not willing that any should perish! (2 Peter 3:9)

John 11:25 (NIV) Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies;

We can live again after we die in Heaven, a perfect paradise! That’s what Easter is all about! That’s why Easter is the biggest celebration each year! We can live again! And that’s a whole lot more exciting that an “old oven” being resurrected! I hope you’ll join us for one of our 5 Easter Worship Services Easter Sunday morning at Northside Christian Church!

Pastor Robin

March 30, 2010 - Posted by | Robin |

3 Comments »

  1. Amen!!!!!

    Comment by Brittany | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. When I was a kid, dinner was ready when the smoke alarm went off! Your blog made me smile. I needed that.

    Comment by Lisa Solomon | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. Robin –
    I am glad you looked and found the burner. I have done two or three of those now and it sure is a lot cheaper than buying a new one. Sorry Nan. Not yet while the kids are in college.

    Comment by Hank Waite | March 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

