Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Hard Questions the Church is Asking (6 of 7)

March 31, 2010

Why are you a Christian? How do you know Christianity is right?

Here are the many areas as reasons why you believe. This one is a bit longer, so hang on.

  1. I believe because my parents believe.

When I was younger, I thought this was a very lame reason to have faith in God. As I study Scripture and grow in my understanding and experience with faith, I have come to appreciate the influence and power of ‘family’ in spreading faith in God. There are still many cultures around the world that deeply respect the decisions of others and it has a profound influence over people’s decisions. The Bible teaches that parents are expected to teach their children about faith and pass on their faith in God to their children (Deuteronomy 6; 2nd Timothy 1). Many would even consider this way of spreading faith to be oppressive. But today, in the church at Northside, we figure out life and faith on our own as one of the highest noble goals.

  1. I believe because I have considered the evidence.

There are many today who accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior because of the evidence they cannot ignore. Just yesterday, I met a man that chose to follow Jesus all the way to baptism because of the facts he had researched about the life of Christ. After being presented with the evidence (we call it apologetics) about Jesus, he was convinced and had nothing else to do but dedicated his whole life to God. Pretty cool, right? Many of you share a similar story. Josh McDowell (check out www.josh.org) and others have dedicated their lives to spreading the gospel by presenting it in a logical and systematic way. God has not left us with a mindless, make believe faith. Many Christians are strengthened in their faith by examining the evidences.

  1. I believe because of the work of God through His Spirit.

I believe that conversion (belief, repentance, confession, baptism) is ultimately a work of God through His Spirit. God uses the family. God uses the evidence around us. God uses His Spirit to convict the world of sin, righteousness, and the judgment to come (John 16). One day Jesus had this very insightful conversation with a man in John chapter 3. In this exchange Jesus teaches that everyone that is ‘born-again’ must be born of the Spirit. This was somewhat a new and thought-provoking idea in Jesus’ day. It is important to remember that we should share the truth about Jesus as we pray for God to reveal Himself. This is why I always pray for the people that I am meeting with. Always. Do you?

I am sure that there are many more reasons as to why people choose to follow Jesus with their entire lives. I just listed the three most common ones I see.

One thing to remember – family history does not make a particular belief system right. There are many faith systems that are not true. This is why we need to pass on the truth about Jesus to our own families and help others around us that the truth that can be found in God’s Son.

I think regularly why I’m a Christian. My faith is a direct result of all three listed above. I am grateful that God uses many different methods to prove Himself over and over. Feel free to send me the reasons why you believe at zachs@northsideweb.org. I’d love to hear from you. Happy Easter church, praise God for an empty grave!

Zach

March 31, 2010 - Posted by | Zach |

1 Comment »

  1. I praise God with you for the empty grave! And our’s will be empty one day too if He tarries. Have a blessed Easter Zach!

    Comment by sheila deptowicz | March 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

