Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

The Lord’s Supper

April 1, 2010

Since I accepted Christ as my Savior, the one who brings forgiveness and life to this once lonely man, I enjoy a certain moment that happens every Lord’s day, communion. As I grew in my relationship with Him I started to understand and see that the greatest part of my worship was to take time and commune with Him; to remember His sacrifice and celebrate His life. This was not a one moment “I get it” time, this was a journey for me and now it is an extremely important part of my walk. In the Old Testament the original approach was to go before God through a priest and provide a sacrifice that would push my sins away from the present, but the sacrifice did not remove my sins. The cross of Christ completely changed the course of what it meant to have a relationship with God. The death, the shedding of His blood and the destruction of His body, created the new covenant. In 1 Corinthians 11:23-25 it reads For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.” The creation of this new covenant opens up the relationship with God completely and eliminates the sin that separate us as it is completely taken away and not just pushed back, anchoring us. He so desires to be with us that He was willing to do the ultimate sacrifice, death for a loved one. The best part is that He did not stay in the grave.

This time that we have to have communion with Him is a time that we can refresh our commitment as we strive to live our life for Him. Communion is not a ritual that we do each week but a renewal of our relationship that we have with Him. We do many things amazingly well for our worship time here at NCC but for me the most impactful and important part of worship is the Lord’s Supper. This is a time just between the two of us, it is so vital for maintaining a true focus on Him. We also need to make sure that we are ready to partake of His supper, intentionally attentive on Him, with a remorseful but forgiven heart and a positive attitude. As you enter into that relational moment with Christ and understand that He has conquered death so you could be in His presence each Sunday, remember His amazing love for you.

To those who prepare communion every Sunday and the men that serve it to me, Thank You! You may not know this but what you are doing for my walk is amazing, fostering a special moment between me and my Savior.

Mark

April 1, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

