Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Help, I’m stressed out! (Part 1)

April 6, 2010

So many people are stressed out in life and about life! It may seem that there’s nothing you can do about the stress in your life. You will never have anymore hours in a day than you do right now to get everything done. The bills aren’t going to stop coming!    Your career or family responsibilities will always be demanding.

Now I do happen to believe that a little stress is good! *Don’t shoot me yet! I’ve noticed when someone trains competes for athletic competition, they put their body a certain amount of physical stress.  For instance, when a weight lifter increases the poundage that he is lifting, the muscles respond by growing stronger. Now of course, you can’t put too much stress on those muscles because then you could risk injury.  I’ve noticed that when grass is under a little bit of stress, it grows greener and stronger.  Yet when where is too much stress, the grass dies and becomes a dirt path.  So I believe that a little stress is good for you. It will challenge you and make you better!  However, when you have more stress that you can handle it can have devastating effects on you.  It can affect nearly every part of your body including physical, emotional and spiritual.

There are so many people that are carrying such a heavy load of stress that it is not good!  You may be one of them. If that’s you, then our next sermon series at Northside Christian Church is for you!  The title of the sermon series is “HELP, I’M STRESSED OUT!” You may feel like you have absolutely no control over the stress in your life.  That is only partly true.  You have a lot more control than you might think. In fact, just realizing that you’re in control of your life is the foundation of stress management.  Stress comes in a variety of ways.  One of the first initial steps is to identify the sources of stress in your life.  We will be dealing with specific areas of stress like: pressure, worry, devastation; feeling like a failure and several other topics.  We will deal with each of these in a biblical point of view over the next several weeks.

Please join us each Sunday as we strive to reduce the bad stress in our lives.  Now don’t get stressed out – if you are reading this and you are not close enough to attend Northside Christian Church, you can catch the sermons online through our website at northsideweb.org

Robin

April 6, 2010 - Posted by | Robin | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Sounds like my kind of series LOL

    Seriously, this will be very helpful to a lot of people, lets pray they are there to hear it …

    Comment by Jacki Rogers | April 6, 2010 | Reply

    • I can’t wait! It’s sometimes hard to cast your burdens on Jesus, but once you do you realize…He only gives you what you can handle..nothing more nothing less.

      Comment by Mark Casalinova | April 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. I need these sermons. With my fathers passing in January I have struggled with always wanting to be in control which is the main cause of my stress. I have been a very fortunante single parent for years stress 1, my mother needs a care giver daily stress 2, I decided to go back to school to further my education for job opprotunies stress 3, & my fathers passing turned my world upside down 😦 taking care of life insurance policies, changing, SS benefits & pension to my mothers name, the list goes on.. all of which I took on knowing my mother couldn’t. Had I not been a christian I just don’t know how I would have gotten through it. Through this I have learned once again God really is in control & if my faith was stronger I would let go & my stress levels wouldn’t be what they are. Sometimes we need reminders & I look forward to these upcomimg sermons.

    Comment by Helen E Abend | April 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. Heard your sermon today — seemed as if you were talking to me! God Bless you as you are helping all of us. I know he guides you hour by hour.

    Comment by Sandy K | April 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

