Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

“I”

April 15, 2010

So how many electronic devices are out there that are all about me? My kids and my bride have a “I” device for their music enjoyment. The other day I saw a “pad” that is all about “I” so where do we go from here? First of all you see the connections of life no longer becoming personal, they are texted, twitted, facebooked, buzzed, and all the other it is all about me. Of course I twit, facebook, and write a blog to express the thoughts and ramblings that I have. I, you know it is all about me, have a thought and you need to hear about it. I am worth your time. So who am I and why do I deserve to be heard and at the same time why do I want to be left all to my self?

I am not knocking the wave of electronic media and devices that make it happen. I just was thinking if Jesus twitted his whole ministry and never left the comforts of Heaven, or never started it because the next “I” device was about to be released so He could approach His ministry in a whole new way. It would have failed because the apostles needed to see His examples and love. In 54 characters Jesus would be able to tweet: “Come, follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” How many would actually get up and do it? I need an “I” in my life, but the “I” that I need is not found in circuits and wires and a battery. It is not lacking a full charge and is not searching for a signal—full bars all the time. What I need is found in the relationship that I have with Jesus Christ. He is the greatest I that has lived on earth. My connection to Him can not be found greater or magnified or made more personal by any device or any other way. Be near Him by being near one of His, personal relationships are a vital part of your ministry. Live your life out loud, and let others see it.

Mark

Reminder: “It is tax day!”

April 15, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

2 Comments »

  1. Amen…We find all kinds of ways to communicate today. I’am scared that we are losing the examples that Jesus set for us,especially when we can’t even hug a child in the schools. We do need that I in our lives…I am the way, the truth and the life.

    Comment by KATHY N. | April 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yes, the ways of communication today has brought many relationship problems, more anger, etc into this world. Most young adults do not know how to effectively communicate face to face, because of the technology of today. It has certainly become an un-personal, disrespectful world. Work one day in a school and you would be amazed what you see and hear and how we have to be careful as to how we cannot hug the children. It shocks me to know and hear what some of these little children know and are exposed to that I never knew until I was an adult. We need to remember to keep the “I” in our daily lives!!

    Comment by Kathy DeLucia | April 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

