Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

Help, I’m stressed out! (Part 4)

April 27, 2010

Why preach this series?

A good friend of mine recently mentioned that these sermon topics sure were “depressing”. And in jest said, that ought to really make people want to come to church!  After one of my blogs on the sermon series “Help, I’m stressed out!” I received these 4 comments from different people online:

1. Sounds like my kind of series LOL! Seriously, this will be very helpful to a lot of people, lets pray they are there to hear it …

2. I can’t wait! It’s sometimes hard to cast your burdens on Jesus, but once you do you realize…He only gives you what you can handle..nothing more nothing less.

3. I need these sermons. With my fathers passing in January, I have struggled with always wanting to be in control which is the main cause of my stress. I have been a very fortunate  single parent for years stress 1, my mother needs a care giver daily stress 2, I decided to go back to school to further my education for job opportunism stress 3, & my fathers passing turned my world upside down taking care of life insurance policies, changing, SS benefits & pension to my mothers name, the list goes on.. all of which I took on knowing my mother couldn’t. Had I not been a Christian I just don’t know how I would have gotten through it. Through this I have learned once again God really is in control & if my faith was stronger I would let go & my stress levels wouldn’t be what they are. Sometimes we need reminders & I look forward to these up-coming sermons.

4. Heard your sermon today — seemed as if you were talking to me! God Bless you as you are helping all of us. I know he guides you hour by hour.

So, maybe these sermon topics really will cause people to want to come to church! I hope so, there is so much in the Scripture that helps us to deal with life issues, as well as, prepare us for the next!

Robin

April 27, 2010 - Posted by | Robin | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Robin,

    I want to thank you for your sermon series. They have always been relevant to everyone’s life situations at one time or another. I wouldn’t call the series depressing at all. I say it’s uplifting to hear how God works in His infinite wisdom and how He works all situations in our lives to His Glory. Many people try to bury there heads in the sand and pretend all is well with the world. Avoiding and denying problems worries or concerns do not make them go away. To me, that’s depressing! I can testify to God’s grace in times of trouble when I cling to His word and promises that it has definetly made my faith stronger and I feel closer to Him because of it.
    Love in Christ, Dee Coleman

    Comment by Dee Coleman | April 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. This sermon series has been a gift seemingly handed directly to me. Stress surrounds all of us and knowing that it is controlled by God and that we will “understand it all, by and by” is a reminder that we are safe in His hands. Thank you for delivering these messages.

    Comment by Carolyn Kreider | April 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

