Northside Christian's Blog

content that is linked from Facebook and Twitter

The Deposit

May 27, 2010

Many years ago I started my first checking account. How cool was that, I had a checking account, you can tell I was a very young man at the time. I placed my money in the account that the bank created for me, they sent me checks (even with my name on them). Then after the first monthly statement I received, there is was a fee for not maintaining a $50.00 balance. It was my money though!

In 2nd Timothy 1:11-18 “And of this gospel I was appointed a herald and an apostle and a teacher. That is why I am suffering as I am. Yet I am not ashamed, because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him for that day. What you heard from me, keep as the pattern of sound teaching, with faith and love in Christ Jesus. Guard the good deposit that was entrusted to you–guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us. You know that everyone in the province of Asia has deserted me, including Phygelus and Hermogenes. May the Lord show mercy to the household of Onesiphorus, because he often refreshed me and was not ashamed of my chains. On the contrary, when he was in Rome, he searched hard for me until he found me.May the Lord grant that he will find mercy from the Lord on that day! You know very well in how many ways he helped me in Ephesus.”

Paul writes to remind Timothy that all that has been presented to him over all their times together, Paul had deposited the truth and sound teaching in him. This deposit had a minimum but no maximum. So often I feel that so many have invested into me over the years that prepared me to be able to stand even when all I have around me is my relationship with Him. It is that relationship with our Savior that keeps us along the journey that lies ahead. We need to rely on Him and understand that the Holy Spirit is there to help along the way. Today see what has been deposited into you and understand that there is a lot more that needs to be deposited. Keep living for Him!

Love ya,
Mark



May 27, 2010 - Posted by | Mark |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

